LaunchBox Community Forums

Higan/Bsnes configuration with Software List ROMs

slikrik98

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to Launchbox. I spent about 2 months configuring my home arcade machine with HyperSpin+RocketLauncher and hated every minute of it, but it was all working. Then I moved, and my HDD was damaged in the move. I almost decided to throw in the towel but stumbled across Launchbox and decided to give it another go and rebuild the PC. I can't say enough how much easier it was getting this configured over my last experience, so thank you!

Above I'm referring largely to MAME. I'm having some issues (not Launchbox's fault) getting my console ROMs to load reliably. I downloaded version 228 of the Software List ROMs (merged), I imported them with @JoeViking245's import utility so I could map the MESS naming convention to something Launchbox understands. 

That all seemed to work well, however using Snes9x as my emulator, I'm encountering many games that either crash the emulator or give me a "bad checksum" and don't play. Unfortunately, it's some of my favorite games, like Link to the Past, and Super Metroid.

This is my first time using the MAME "software list" ROMs. In the past, I would just go to some random ROM website and download the games I wanted piecemeal, and they all worked. And sure enough, if I do the same now for, say, Super Metroid, that works just fine with snes9x. So I'm not sure what the difference is between the SWL Roms and the ones I grab from one of the many emu websites that abound.

But in any event I decided to see if one of the other popular SNES emulators perhaps dealt with the "bad" ROMs better than snes9x. And sure enough, both Higan and bsnes seem to run these roms fine. Great, I thought, I'll just point Launchbox to one of these emulators instead -- I have a pretty beefy CPU and I think it can handle the more taxing nature of these emulators.