LaunchBox Community Forums

Merge Platforms but keep original RA cores

ejay81

Hello,

I'm new to Launchbox and so far everything has been coming along fairly well.   My OCD is kicking in now though and really want to clean up one minor issues I have.   Within my Arcade section I have "Arcade and MAME".  Arcade is my FBNEO roms and MAME is my MAME2003 roms.   Beign they are all arcade games is there a way to merge the MAME roms into the arcade platform without changing the RA core from mame to fbneo?   I know you can move them and do this by a game by game basis but that would be very painful.   I tested one game and changed its platform from mame to arcade, it did move it to the folder but didn't boot as expected since the core changed and wasn't compatible with the rom.

Screenshot of what I'm referring to. Want just "ARCADE" that includes both MAME and Arcade (FBNEO) roms.  The main Arcade category seems to have been created due to both FBNEO and MAME games being scrpped as "arcade" category.  I want this just not a breakout of each rom folder/platform.  I could see this becoming an issue with any large rom folder that requires various differenet cores to be used.  With having a platform tied to a single RA core the only way I've figured out how to overcome this is by creating multiple platforms as scene above.   That bring this issue where you have more or less emulators as platforms which isn't ideal.

Capture.PNG

Edited by ejay81

Why do you have two old and non official romsets in the first place? All games in those two sets are in the normal mame romset, so you are already complicating matters somewhat. Just get the latest mame romset and matching emulator version or retroarch core and save yourself the hassle of managing two old, and unofficial romsets.