LaunchBox Community Forums

Well it used to be a SEGA Super Megalo 2....

syntax_X

So ive been chipping away at this little project for a few years now and I think its almost done.

All work besides painting has been done by me.

Gutted a Sega Super Megalo 2 and made it shorter so it can fit through a door and function in a living room.
Was a fair bit of welding and fiberglass work but came up sweet. 

In my opinion its one of if not the best machines to play on. 
Its big and heavy but there's plenty of room between both players, everything is exactly the same so its always a fair fight,

Sanwa JLF joysticks with QanBa round gates, heavy springs, short stick and alloy bat-top. Ends up the same height as a stock JLF ball-top but that nice batty feel :) 

HBFS30 buttons all around, easily one of the best buttons ever made, no idea why they went under but I'm glad I stocked up when I did.

The smaller buttons are IP67 rated buttons, they'll last forever, nice firm feel. The missile switches are covering I-Pac controls for EXIT RESET SAVE LOAD

When each emulator loads in Launchbox I run an autohotkey string that on-the-fly programs the I-Pac to suit the emulators mappings. Having this centre control panel across emulators is awesome.

The control panel when running emulators is hooked up to a hacked up PS2 controller that ive added HDMI breakouts to to make changing from console to emulator easier.
The hacked ps2 controller plugs into a Blissbox 4-play unit. Same goes for both players.
If I want to use a different controller I have to open the control panel, unplug the hacked ps2 controller from the Blissbox and then plug in whatever controller I wish. 
I tried using a HDMI switch to make this simpler but to no avail.
Players 3 and 4 can just plug straight into their HDMI ports, hit the ports reset if needed and play.

The 4play is basically 4 "Virtual" controllers in a hardware form.