LaunchBox Community Forums

BigBox performance issues - Slow

Mike69pt

Hello guys,

After using Hyperspin for some time and having all the systems set up with some minor issues, I have looked at what people said about Launchbox and it seemed like a better solution all around, better visual interface, easier to configure, etc.

Decided to give a go and went all in with BigBox and paid the fee. In fact it is way easier to configure than HyperSpin and I really like the end result with all the emulators and integration with Emumovies.

Now for the bad part...It is objectively slow!!!

I have it running on my Laptop, a i5 5th Gen 8GB SSD 840M-4GB machine and it's just annoyingly slow!

I have seen all the other posts about people having the same issue and almost all the help provided is about "cleaning up the pc" "higher specs needed" (even when they already have High end specs) etc.

I work in IT so I'm fairly competent in having my pc up to date and "clean", and how can we blame the computer if it's just this one piece of software that does not work properly??

In my specific case when I launch BigBox the issues start straight away as the intro sound is choppy and then it gets more frustrating when scrolling through emulators or games.

I wish I had been warned about this before actually buying BigBox as this is clearly an application problem. I have tried many other front ends and this is the only one with this issue.

If you are unhappy with the performance I'd suggest contacting support@unbrokensoftware.com and asking for a refund then, as with you specs you shouldn't have issues. If you have Windows 10 Creator Update and you are running MSI Afterburner it has been known to cause issue but if not then pretty much the clean up advice is all anyone can offer since we don't know why some people suffer from unbearable low speed and while others have no issues.