LaunchBox Community Forums

Something doesn't work quite right when consolidating roms

Landcross

So, I'm quite new to Launchbox but I love the whole launchboxDB idea and especially the merging feature in Launchbox. When I heard that the beta supported automatically merging roms based on alternate titles, I immediately installed the beta. I've been slowly adding a lot of missing alternate titles to the database (I kinda envy the future users who don't have to do that anymore but can merge everything with the press of a button :P), but today I noticed something interesting.

There's this gameboy game called Sea Battle. It has 2 alternate titles on the database; a German and a French title. Launchbox correctly identified the English version (I added the roms just before I installed the beta). However, the consolidating roms feature does something weird: it did merge the German and French titles together in a game with the French title as main game, but it did not merge the German and French title together into the English version. In other words, it was like this:

• Sea Battle
  • Schiffe Versenken
  • Bataille Navale

It created this:

• Sea Battle
  • Bataille Navale
    • Schiffe Versenken

But it should have created this:

• Sea Battle
    • Bataille Navale
    • Schiffe Versenken

• Like 1

Just now, DOS76 said:

Interesting as a quick fix you could add an additional app and add the one that didn't get added correctly until this can be looked at.

Well, the quick fix is just manually merging Sea Battle together with Bataille Navale (which was already merged with Schiffe Versenken) ;)

But yeah, I'm not sure why it didn't merge those. I did have the newest local LaunchboxDB and I pressed the consolidate button minutes before I came across this. I just realized though that I can unmerge all three again and see what happens when I auto-consolidate again. I'll report back in a minute.