LaunchBox Community Forums

MAMEUI64 - File Organization - Need Assistance.

MapleLeaf

Could do with some help organizing MAME files...

I got these from a certain dome of pleasure:

MAME 0.194 ROMs (non-merged)
MAME 0.193 CHDs (merged)
MAME 0.194 Software List ROMs (split)
MAME 0.194 EXTRAs
MAME 0.194 Multimedia

Basically, I'm struggling pretty hard here.  I'm very new to emulation, but I've been reading everything I can about MAME over the past 3 weeks, trying to learn what I can but I have no idea how to fully organize/path these downloads.

I'm aware that you can place ROMs/CHDs/BIOS files into the Mameui64 > Roms directory. I know you can place Samples in the Mameui64 > Samples directory. Anything beyond this I don't know how to do. Having said that, all of what I have is "created in such a way that their contents can be used directly in MAME or frontends, without the need of copying, moving, renaming, compressing, or extracting any files or folders." 

So my goal is to get all of this working without having to move anything around. If I do need to move files around to specific folders, I can do that too, but I don't know how to manually organize anything beyond what I've already mentioned: (ROMs/CHDs/BIOS/Samples). 

In original MAME I'm aware that you can edit the mame.ini and the ui.ini to set paths to these folders without having to move anything around. But as I said, I use MAMEUI so I haven't been able to test this and I'm not overly fond of using something as complex as the original MAME.

So can anyone help me out with what I should be doing to organize everything? 

I realize this request doesn't have much to do with LaunchBox and Bigbox, but I figure if I can't this right, there's probably not much hope for me getting LB/BB working properly. From my perspective, I need to get the basics down before moving on.