LaunchBox Community Forums

Intel NUC for cabinet

DerHof2007

Hey,

Not a noob here but didn't really know where to post this.
Thinking about getting rid of the desktop PC in my cab... anyone running their setup with an Intel NUC?
I was considering one of these... really like the small form factor.
Trying to decide how powerful to go if I do... basically need to run MAME, C64, ScummVM, Daphne, and maybe a few consoles.

Anyone have any experience with this things?

3 minutes ago, DOS76 said:

well here is the thing an Intel NUC can have anywhere from a Celeron to an i7 in it so without knowing which specific NUC its hard to say.

Well, that is kind of the answer I was looking for... specs... processor and ram specifically.

I was thinking i5 8 meg minimum... I'm thinking this should be more than adequate...
This is a dedicated cabinet so it wont need to run any more than I mentioned.

I mean for what you have listed you might be able to get away with a Celeron but I think an i5 is a great place to start I'm sure an i3 would suffice but you may just get a better experience out of the i5 I'd go with the 16GB or RAM personally but 8 might do the job since its a cab and won't be running a bunch of stuff at once.

10 hours ago, Lordmonkus said:

Just my opinion but I would go for as fast of a CPU as you are willing to spend money on. More CPU power means you can use higher quality emulators and if you use Retroarch or GroovyMame you can use higher Frame Delay settings to reduce input latency.

Well, I was actually considering one of the i7's but thought that would be excessive overkill. Those little NUC's get expensive in the i7 16GB ram level... at that price point I might be able to just get a new mobo, cpu and ram for the existing desktop I have inside that would be more powerful and cheaper... Guess I have to decide how important that smaller form factor is.

3 hours ago, DerHof2007 said:

i7's but thought that would be excessive overkill.