LaunchBox Community Forums

Can't get Splash screen to change for BigBox

ernie12121

Hi, I am a noob but I have spent the last 3 hours trying to change the SplashScreen to no avail. Read all I could find on the forums but no luck. watched youtube tutorials etc.

So I have downloaded a custom theme and renamed it to startup ( I also tried it with Startup) and placed the file in the root of User/MyName/Launchbox/Videos

but the splash screen stays the same. I have also tried to copy that file to almost every other Launchbox folder I could find but still nothing changes.

So my question is, what on earth am I doing wrong ? In which folder should i place this mp4 file and what other files should be present in that folder ?

Also what is the name of the original splashscreen, so I can try to locate that ?

thanks again, Peter

Are you talking about Launchbox or Bigbox? Because Launchbox does not support videos for starting up its Bigbox only. If you are talking Bigbox you need to create a folder called startup in Launchbox/Videos and drop any videos in there and they will play randomly when you start Bigbox.

Sorry to keep bothering you on this, I am just tearing my hair out for hours now and I dont get it to work. There was no 'startup' folder in my Videos folder so I created it and placed the file called startup.mp4 in there. I have also placed it in the root of the Videos folder. This doesn't work. i keep getting the original BigBox start screen and sound. Now, in the Videos folder I can see other folders called Arcade, Nintendo 64 etc which contain some videos. However the root of my Launchbox/Videos folder is empty (apart from startup.mp4) isn't that a bit weird ? I think my solution lies in locating the original startup screen but I cannot find it anywhere.

This is something else I discovered. If I overwrite 'startup' in the sounds folder and then start BigBox, the Startup.wav gets recreated. Could that be a clue ?

Capture.JPG

Capture2.JPG

Edited by ernie12121