LaunchBox Community Forums

Big issue that started in 9.X. Games often don't launch property after startup.

Arcade1993

Hello! 

I've been using LaunchBox for about 2 years now, ever since I finished my MAME cabinet. I never had an issue until the 9.x update. I am currently on the latest version. I am running MAME 0.203.

Ever since updating, I always have an issue launching my first game. For example, I'll click on Street Fighter 2 in Big Box mode. 9 times out of 10 it will start correctly flashing the buttons and speak its commands (LEDBlinky) and everything will go well. But then the game will never start. I will either get a black screen, or it will get stuck at the first screen where MAME tells you the info like screen res and such. I always have to force close Big Box and then start it up again, and then everything works fine. 

Obviously this is a pretty big issue because my young children want to play it sometimes when I am not home and it's not easy explaining to them or my wife how to force close a program and then open it again, especially with arcade controls. 

Does anybody know what changed from 8.x to 9.x that is causing this?  I doubt it's my computer as it's an i7 @ 4.0ghz with 12GB of RAM and an SSD. And this issue did not exist with 8.X for me. I disabled "show loading screen" but that didn't seem to fix it. I even have issues sometimes when I exit games, where I exit and it takes forever and I have to force exit (kill Big Box then open it again), though this exiting issue is a lot less common than the startup one. 

I am running Windows 10 Pro. 

Any info would be greatly appreciated! 

The biggest update was likely the implementation of Startup screens in 9.2. To date Mame has worked without issue for the vast majority of users. Some have noted some problems though. Try turning off Startups for Mame and see if it helps. >Tools>Manage Emulators - Edit Mame and go to the Startups tab.