LaunchBox Community Forums

Extremely high CPU usage (big box)

Goshyiyo

CPU: i5 4670K OC 4.4

GPU: RTX 2060

SSD: Samsung 850 EVO

Hey, just got LaunchBox & EmuMovies premium and I'm just getting started. A bit saddening that I'm running into a problem rendering both useless, but whatever. I currently only have one game added as I set up the user interface. 

Problem is that after about 5-10 minutes fiddling around and traveling through different menus, my CPU usage skyrockets to 100% suddenly (seems to spike multiple times throughout the 5-10 minutes, but higher each time), causing my entire computer to hang until I can manage to get an escape input to go through, then the settings menu is usable but pretty choppy. 

I googled and saw people were mentioning image cache, so I force populated images in Big Box since that seems to help some people, but the problem persists. I'm lost. 

Edited by Goshyiyo

Seems to be connected to videos playing. If I idle on the one game I have and let the video snapshot repeat, the CPU usage eventually creeps up to 100% or near it. I don't know how'd this play out if I was scrolling through games with new videos playing each time. I have no idea how to fix this, so if anyone could help I'd greatly appreciate it. 

I'd try changing the video engine to WMP but my system doesn't have it because I ripped it from my windows install (created a custom one) and the alternative ways of getting it haven't worked, so I believe my only option would be reinstalling windows, and that's a bitch. 

This doesn't happen if I let the video replay inside VLC alone. So it's definitely related to BigBox somehow, or it's using an old version or something.