LaunchBox Community Forums

Roms on a NAS

SiriusVI

Hey everyone,

I'm a total noob when it comes to NAS Servers and I haven't been able to understand if what I'm trying to achieve is possible with a NSA server.

So here is what I would like to do:

1. I want to have a Server that stores all my roms and can be accessed from anywhere online at all times.

2. I want to run Launchbox and emulators locally from a device (Tablet, Phone, Laptop, Desktop) but access the roms from the NAS

3. I don't want to deal with performance slowdowns due to the roms being stored on the NAS.

Can I achieve this with a NAS Server? If so, which NAS server would you recommend?

Thanks for helping 😃

Edited by SiriusVI

Having the ROMs/Images on NAS is usually not an issue, particularly anything non-CD based.  The time needed to pull a relatively small size ROM file for cart based systems isn't a big issue and the lag would be at the beginning of the game so once running wouldn't see any difference.  The bottleneck will be images and media caching if that is not done locally. If you run LB locally then won't have issues there. One thing to think about is how to synchronize the local LB setups as well as emulators on the local setups (if at all).  Something like FreeFileSync works well to sync media to the other local installs.

Also, for CD based emulation (or MAME CHDs), those files are much larger so if you have slow network or doing wireless that can lag on retrieving parts and pieces. So, a key piece is what your network speed is as well as what type of emulation you are wanting to do. There are a couple threads here with people's experience and for some it isn't a big deal with lag. For me, when first tried it, the lag was noticeable on a wireless setup (several years ago generation wise on wireless).