LaunchBox Community Forums

Total noob looking for project tips

p03t13

Hi all, new member. I am in the early stages of planning a project. I will be building an 80s/90s style arcade cabinet that uses a pc to run emulators and a front end like Lunchbox to select system/game. I want to be able to run games from many different systems that I'll list shortly. I'm looking for advice on system specs for the PC and y'alls preferred emulators for each system.

System list:

NEW, SNES, GB/C, GBA, SEGA Genesis, SEGA Saturn, SEGA Dreamcast, SEGA Game gear, PlayStation 1

Any advice helps, this is the extremely early stages of planning.

Edited by p03t13

Welcome to the forums. :) As for the emulators i would use Retroarch for all those systems except for Dreamcast for which i would use demul for it.  As for the system that is a difficult one to answer, it will depend on multiple things, most importantly what sort of budget do you have for it? Are you looking for as cheap as possible, or a powerful rig that will play current PC games as well?  Are you looking to emulate PS2, Gamecube/Wii or wii u as well?

It doesnt need to be super powerful.  This pc will be dedicated to this arcade machine project. After initial setup it probably won't even be on the Wi-Fi. I do know that Dreamcast and ps1 emulators can be a bit demanding I have a "working" Dreamcast emulator on my current gaming rig. (Sorry I should mention I'm not TOTALLY new to emulation, just to trying to emulate using a front end, and using systems beyond snes.) As far as budget, I haven't gotten to that point as of yet. I'm gonna say around $1000.00 max for the pc (I can be flexible with it but I think that much should be able to make something that can run ps1 stuff)

Edited by p03t13