LaunchBox Community Forums

Attract Mode Memory Leak

Maphreal

Hello! I'm new to Launchbox, and am so far enjoying it a lot. I have one problem though, and it's a memory leak that slowly occurs while attract mode is running. I've been doing a lot of testing and troubleshooting and just cannot nail the cause.

First, my machine specs:

• Intel i3-2100 3.1GHz
  • 8 Gb RAM
  • Geforce GT 710
  • Seagate Barracuda 250gb HDD
  • Windows 10
  • Launchbox 7.12 Beta 1

What I've tried:

• Reinstalling Launchbox
  • Uninstalling all codecs, reinstalling w/ K-Lite Community Codec
  • Upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 10
  • Changing default video player from VLC to WMP
  • Installing an older version of Launchbox (I think it was 7.08)
  • Updating all drivers

The memory leak is relatively slow, but it will crash out over night. BigBox steadily increases from ~900 mb to 6-7 gb before it crashes. As of typing this, it's up to around 4 gb usage in about 3 hours of run time. I've noticed if I slow down how often attract mode changes games, it slows down how much it leaks. If I turn off videos, either the leak stops or it slows down so much I don't notice it within a day's time.

I'm out of ideas, if y'all have any I'd love to hear them. This isn't a deal breaker, but attract mode is so, well, attractive. I would love to keep using it. Thanks for your time on this!

LBUsage.jpg

I fixed this... somehow. It's been running for 12 hours now with stable memory.

Things I've done since my post:

• Reinstalled Launch box (again)
  • Reinstalled Windows (again)
  • Reinstalled .net 4.7 and Direct X
  • Updated video card drivers.

I think it was either the .net, DirectX or driver reinstall. I didn't see results until after I did those.

Dam, I just hit this on my HTPC! For the first time, I left my Win 10 HTPC running (like a cabinet) for a few days with BB open and running.