LaunchBox Community Forums

SNK Neo Geo CD Using FBAlpha Core in Retroarch

3x0x8

Can't seem to find the answer to this, though I found a very similar post, that seems to have gone unanswered: 

I have my bin/cue Neo Geo CD games loading directly from Retroarch using the FBAlpha core. But, I cannot seem to get these to launch form within Launchbox. I used to do this through RocketLauncher, but i'm sick and tired of using it and would like to streamline things. Any ideas? I'm probably missing something simple... i'm still a little new to LB.

01-details.png

02-associated_platforms.png

03-game_launcher.png

04-game_emulation.png

I have never had any luck with NeoGeo CD and Retroarch using the FBA core, I use stand alone Mame for my NeoGeo CD emulation. And unfortunately I cannot test this on my end since I have my disk images converted to CHD which is not supported by the FBA core it seems.

You say your games are working in RA on its own ? Everything I see in your screenshots looks correct.

Are you actually using the FBAlpha core in RA or are you maybe using the new FBNeo core which is the replacement for FBA now ?

Yes, all games work when I launch directly from RA. Just verified, I only had the FBAlpha core downloaded. Didn't realize the FBNeo core existed - just tried it now, and it also doesn't work with my Neo CD games (does launch AES/MSV just fine, though). Also, the FBNeo core won't load my Neo CD games directly in RA, but the FBAlpha core does without issue.

I don't need any specific parameters to make this work, do I? 

5 minutes ago, 3x0x8 said:

Didn't realize the FBNeo core existed

It's brand new, there was some drama with the recently announced Capcom arcade controller with games and using FBA as the emulator. It was "licensed" out by the maintainer of FBA without any permissions from any of the actual devs so the devs split off and now FBNeo is the new emulator going forward.

6 minutes ago, 3x0x8 said: