LaunchBox Community Forums

Arcade cabinet recommendations

jlister

Hi,

i’m not an expert in DIY so was tempted to go with an arcade1up cabinet and mod it to use bigbox, lots of videos and help out there.  But they are a bit on the small size, both in height, though can get a riser and the width for the controls for 2 players, though, at that price it is a bargain.

I’m based in Uk and found this site,

https://www.libertygames.co.uk/store/video_arcade_machines/retro_multiplay_arcade_machines/legends-ultimate/

its twice the price of an arcade1up over here but less than the premium cabinets that go into thousands..

it has bigger dimensions than arcade1up, 24” screen,  looks like i can just plug a pc in with bigbox, 6 buttons,   Im not great at judging quality, would appreciate any feedback or recommendations of other sites that are in UK or ship out to UK, under £1000 or wife wont be happy !

thanks

james

Edited by jlister

What I did was get an old arcade cabinet that was no working and gutted it. I got it for free. There are many out there that you can do that with. You'd get a much higher quality cabinet that way as well. I then built a new control panel out of wood and retrofitted it in place of the old control panel. Looks great, especially with custom artwork applied.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...
On 10/30/2020 at 8:12 AM, jlister said:

Hi,

i’m not an expert in DIY so was tempted to go with an arcade1up cabinet and mod it to use bigbox, lots of videos and help out there.  But they are a bit on the small size, both in height, though can get a riser and the width for the controls for 2 players, though, at that price it is a bargain.

I’m based in Uk and found this site,

https://www.libertygames.co.uk/store/video_arcade_machines/retro_multiplay_arcade_machines/legends-ultimate/

its twice the price of an arcade1up over here but less than the premium cabinets that go into thousands..