LaunchBox Community Forums

How to organize and what to import? Looking for the best way to go about...

Whistler NL

Hi Guys,

First of all I'm just starting out, so still a lot to learn, but love bigbox, it's amazing and the tutorials help immensely! 

Was wondering how you all go about organizing roms and deciding what to import?

Since I'm just getting into things I like to have a good setup from the get-go. Right now I have all roms in the appropriate folders like Nintendo Entertainment System, Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Sega Genesis and so on. But within these folders I have rom versions from usa, europe, japan. Some games are region specific single games but a lot of games are just the same game only different region.

So what do you guys do? Split these sets into regions separate the roms? Keep preferred region get rid of the others? Or just import all since launchbox combines the roms with the same name, but then you're wasting a lot of space on the same game multiple times. Or do you just add your preferred region and add region specific games on top?

Like to hear your thoughts before I get to far in, now i'm still able to make changes without having to do too much work

Many thanks,

3 hours ago, Whistler NL said:

Hi Guys,

First of all I'm just starting out, so still a lot to learn, but love bigbox, it's amazing and the tutorials help immensely! 

Was wondering how you all go about organizing roms and deciding what to import?

Since I'm just getting into things I like to have a good setup from the get-go. Right now I have all roms in the appropriate folders like Nintendo Entertainment System, Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Sega Genesis and so on. But within these folders I have rom versions from usa, europe, japan. Some games are region specific single games but a lot of games are just the same game only different region.