LaunchBox Community Forums

Autoboot Command / Script for MAME SWL (Computer Systems)

SiriusVI

Hey everyone,

over the last few days I've been trying to get various computer systems to work with mame and having games automatically loaded via autoboot command. With the help of @JoeViking245 and @kurzih I was able to get several the Acorn Electron roms to automatically boot when starting a rom via LaunchBox. You can accompish this either by using a command line or by editing the electron.ini in...system\mame\ini\ (if you use retroarch:

Example:

#
# SCRIPTING OPTIONS

autoboot_command          "*cat\n\n\n\n\n\n*run !boot\n"
autoboot_delay            2
autoboot_script          

Since I'm a total noob when it comes to figuring out working autoboot commands, I thought it would be great to have a thread where we can share and collect autoboot commands (or even scripts) for several computer systems when emulated with Mame. The idea is that anyone who has figured out how to autoboot roms for a particular system can post instructions here and I'm going to add them to the following chart:

System

Format

Command line Mame Standalone

Command line Mame RetroArch

Aamber Pegasus

cart

"pegasus -rp \"L:\LaunchBox\Games\Aamber Pegasus\" -rom1 \"%romfile%\""

ABC 80

flop

abc80 -skip_gameinfo -autoboot_delay "3" -autoboot_command "loadhiresinv\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\nrun\n" -flop1

every rom needs its own command line, because the file name has to be typed out to boot each individual game. The command line above is an example for booting the game "hiresinv.zip".

Also, depending on your machine, you might need to add a couple of ” \n”.

Acorn Electron

cart

"electron -exp romboxp -rp \"L:\LaunchBox\Games\Acorn Electron\" -cart1 \"%romfile%\""

cass

electron -skip_gameinfo -autoboot_delay "2" -autoboot_command "*tape\nchain""""""\n" -cass