LaunchBox Community Forums

Using MAME in Retroarch

Flintz

Hi all!

i would really like to use MAME in Retroarch, but I can't seem to get games to launch. Every time I try, nothing happens or it opens and then crashes. I have the standalone MAME emulator, but I'd like to use Retroarch for its input mapping organization. 

The MAME rom version I have is 0.181. Which version of MAME do I use in Retroarch? Do I have to do anything with any BIOS files besides have them in the System folder? Is there anything I need to do in Launchbox itself?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

I have the exact same question as I also want to use Retroarch as my MAME  emulator in LaunchBox. I recently put together a brand new unmerged set of v0.182 ROMS. I am new to libreto but is seems that at some point the name of the dll was recently (several months ago?) made to a generic mame_libretro.dll without any year or MAME version designation. How exactly does this relationship work / translate anyway as new versions of MAME are released? Since the emulator needs to match the set I thought how is this supposed to work over time?

Also a side question since I am still a bit of a noob. Besides having to add the SAMPLES files seperatly (as I think I understand it) to the samples folder what else besides art,videos, etc do I need to round up or add to to the ROMS? I have been reading about the CHD files certain games need but how do I integrate them into the overall LaunchBox folder hierarchy and assocaite the CHD filers (or folders) to a game?

Thanks 

i apologize if I'm not of any assistance. But I personally used mame in retroarch about a month ago. However, I went back to stand alone mame after a few days because retroarch mame was lacking in many features. Most notably , there is no way to set "per game controls" and the more demanding titles "rival schools, tekken, umk3, killer instinct, etc"   crash and glitch.  IMHO, You are not missing much.