LaunchBox Community Forums

BigBox - Select Random Game Feature fixed by "Wheel Spin"

FreeSoftwareServers

I have been looking for the feature to select random game in BigBox since day 1. I have been following the BitBucket url https://bitbucket.org/jasondavidcarr/launchbox/issues/195/big-box-option-to-random-select-game# . I was very sad and upset to see this had been "accomplished" via the spin wheel feature. This feature does not work on my system, in fact if I have guests, it showcases how laggy it can really be. Does anybody else agree or is this fine for most people? I would like to have this ticket re-opened or a new one created to have this feature implemented. It should be simple, something that takes you directly to a random game with the option to launch it. It should be dependant on the page your on, like if I'm in N64, it should be a random N64 Game. I am not a coder, I can do basic shell scripting, but this seems like an easy feature to implement and the original BitBucket page was created in 2015 :O. I know there are many threads on this on the forums, so it is a sought after feature and would really make the biggest difference in my "day-2-day" gaming as I would love to start playing random games when I have friends over. 

(One thing at a time, but a feature to filter to only multiplayer games/one player games would be nice in the random games, but really, you could just select "next random game" if the first one is(n't) multiplayer)

• 1 month later...

I couldn't agree more. I use the wheel spin usually and, while I do like the 'visual flair' of the wheel spin feature, this has become far from ideal now that I am running an multicade with 700+ games! I have to hold the button for far too long (getting close to 30s!) just to have it complete one revolution.