LaunchBox Community Forums

Good controllers to get

Itsme

I'm pretty new to emulation and I plan on turning my PC into an HTPC type of set up for my living room. I wanted to put an emulator on there for (mostly) Nintendo systems so I don't have to hook up all of my systems as a way to keep it clean. I'm planning on setting up launchbox to do the task, but my only question is how would I be able to play the games on a controller. Are there 'all in one' type of controllers that I can use for most of the Nintendo consoles (at least up to Game cube anyways)? Also, would I have to configure the controller every time I switch systems (ie. going from an NES game to an SNES game) or will the configuration be remembered every time I go back to a game I played before? Hopefully that makes sense.

There are plenty of controller discussions here on the forums already but if you only want one for everything including more modern analog stick consoles then I would suggest something like an XBox One controller. It's easy to setup without any 3rd party hassle and will work with everything. Or you could get the 8Bitdo SN30 Pro which from all reports is very good. https://www.amazon.com/8Bitdo-Sn30-Pro-Bluetooth-Gamepad-mac/dp/B07T8JKVNT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=8bitdo&qid=1573771980&sr=8-3&th=1

You would have to set the controller up in all the emulators you use but once it is setup you really shouldn't have to re do the bindings every time you load a game or change systems at all.

Thanks and sorry for the redundant question. After digging up through some things, I forgot I had a wireless xbox 360 controller which I think I used for steam games at one point and I assume would work for this application. I'm going to need a second controller, so I'll go ahead and order the SN30.