LaunchBox Community Forums

New Retro Big Box Theme

skainlurmis

Hey everyone, so I'm (slowly) working on a new theme inspired by the aesthetics of "New Retro Arcade Neon". Up to this point I've only done the platforms that I currently have myself. This really started as a vanity project, but I figured maybe other people would be interested. The individual platforms take a pretty decent amount of work, so they take a while to produce. I also am using some assets from different sources:

- The background image is a screenshot from New Retro Arcade

- The carpet texture is also from New Retro Arcade

- The ambient arcade sounds are from Andy Hofle's Arcade Ambience Project

I'm also planning on making images for the third "Game Details" view with the "Play, flip box, etc." (the one a lot of people turn off). But that's tabled for the moment. 

A bit of the in's and outs of this are that; as I am not a programmer ..at least not a skilled one, these platform images are actually Banner image replacements. My intent was to only really use this one view so that works fine, but if you wanted to use a different view it would look a little screwed up. I figure in the future they could be converted to be platform videos, but I just don't have the time to work all that out at the moment. 

So this is both a heads-up saying "Hey this is something in the works", but also a request for a little help. As I try to make the files ready for upload here, I'm running into a problem with my XAML. File paths need to be changed to make background images work, but the bigger issue is that, when I copied the them file and moved it to my desktop to edit it, it now gives me an "Invalid Markup" and my "transistions:transistionpresenter" tag is giving me errors.